Beginning Java Spring Framework

Join me in this path to Learning the Most Popular Java Framework

Beginning Java Spring Framework

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Over the years, Spring has been the hottest most used framework on the Java software market, especially in web development. For beginners, like me, Spring has appeared to be hard to learn, close to impossible. Call this one, "MISSION IMPOSSIBLE".

Spring is a Java framework mainly used for Java EE applications, that is Java Enterprise Edition but its core features can also be used by any applications, including desktop applications' backend. Spring has been around since 2003 and has a ton of great developer support and a vast bunch of children which include:

  • Spring Boot - this quickly sets you up for spring development by providing easy implementation or environment set-up.

  • Spring Framework - enables dependency injection , transaction management , messaging and transaction management.

  • Spring Data - handles all things data; both relational data sources and non-relational.

  • Spring Security - provides application security : platform authentication and authorization.

  • Spring Web Services - provides support for SOAP web services development. (my highly anticipated )

....and much more unlisted frsmeworks under Spring's hood found here spring.io/projects

Now , it won't be fair if I don't give you reasons to why I'm recommending Spring to myself after the battle I've had with Core Java. Here are a few :

  • Spring is fast -spring was created with execution performance in mind. Design practices like concurrency control , multithreading and memory optimization, not forgetting performance tuning were put into consideration.

  • Spring is productive and efficient - you won't need to write unnecessary repetitive chunks of code , Spring has got you. You'll divert your attention to more demanding parts of the work at hand.

  • Spring has great support around the globe.

  • Spring is secure - vulnerabilities and security exploits that arise are handled quickly by security professionals that partner with Spring.

Companies that use Spring include Alibaba , Netflix , Amazon , Google , Microsoft and much more.

All said , now let's get to doing. I'm about to begin my Spring learning journey having done my research with this first step of laying a blog foundation. I will make a plan of how I'll tackle this diffcult path. On my journey , I'll be using a book (Modern API Development Spring Boot)from Packt Publishers as my guide. Stay tuned.